Tags

, ,

Fey

If we shadows have offended,

Think but this, and all is mended,

That you have but slumber’d here

While these visions did appear.

And this weak and idle theme,

No more yielding but a dream,

Gentles, do not reprehend:

if you pardon, we will mend:

And, as I am an honest Puck,

If we have unearned luck

Now to ‘scape the serpent’s tongue,

We will make amends ere long;

Else the Puck a liar call;

So, good night unto you all.

Give me your hands, if we be friends,

And Robin shall restore amends.

~William Shakespeare

A Midsummer Night’s Dream

There’s always been a bit of mischief with the Fey: a witty comment here, a little roguery there, perhaps even a treachery or two taken to the extreme; all in all (at the expense of alienating some of my readers: except for that shit that Tolkien did with the elves. Seriously, they are without a doubt the most boring thing in literature… but maybe that’s just me), their genesis has brought me nothing but entertainment.

A little too “Fall of Rome” for my taste.

As far as creature types go, Fey are just different enough to be distinct. My first reaction was to make them a subtype of Magical Beasts, but unlike the Chimera, or the Griffon, or the Manticore, fey aren’t bestial, at least, not in the same way. If I were to build a creature type/subtype system from scratch, I would likely place Fey as a subtype of Humanoids. However, in the Pathfinder multiverse the Fey have their own plane of existence called the First World and it is this distinction that makes me wonder if it wouldn’t be more prudent to place them in the Outsider category. The Fey fit well as a subtype in several of the existing categories, which has only reinforced my opinion that they should remain a type all their own; after all, fitting well into several different boxes is itself a defining feature.

I like the Fey. I happen to be playing a Fey bloodline sorcerer right now and to date he is my longest lived character (that really doesn’t tell you anything about the creature type…I just wanted you to know). The Fey are also one of the most sparse of the creature types, consisting of less than a hundred creatures. While this sparseness would often denote a lack of variety the Fey creature type is anything but deficient. Of the nine alignments the Fey creature type covers all but one (no Lawful Good, which I consider a bonus), and the Pathfinder guys have done a fair job of spreading the Fey into different environments, making them ubiquitous in almost all terrains.

For me, the Fey stay just as they are. No accoutrements. No reductions. No substitutions. That’s really all I have to say.

